The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) sets standards for the learning, development, and care of children from birth to 5 years old.

It covers the welfare and development of children.

The welfare section covers basic checks such as:
  • Ensuring staff have undergone all relevant security checks
  • Facilities and equipment are safe and suitable for children
  • The quality of the environment. For example, it recommends there should be some access to outdoor space
The development section covers:
  • Personal, social and emotional development
  • Communication, language and literacy
  • Problem solving and reasoning
  • Knowledge and understanding of the world
  • Physical development
  • Expressive arts development